Quasi one- and two-dimensional conductors offer a wealth of new broken symmetry ground states such as charge/spin density waves, high temperature superconductors, (anti)ferroelectrics, colossal magnetoresistance systems etc. which exhibit fascinating collective phenomena. Low energy excitations of these electronic crystals, which govern their thermal, magnetic and transport properties, are largely determined by topological defects in electronic superstructure such as solitons, vortices and domain walls and their interaction with underlying crystal, its boundaries and defects (impurities).
This workshop will deal with recent developments in understanding of static and dynamic properties of these collective states, particulary charge density waves (CDW). Special attention will be paid to the study of CDW at different spatio-temporal scales: high resolution x-ray spectroscopy, coherent diffraction, STM, femtosecond optical spectroscopy, optoelectric measurements, dielectric measurements and glassy relaxation, wavelet temporal analysis, meso- and nanoscale measurements.


Intended topics include:


The intention of the workshop is twofold - making a step towards synthesis of the wealth of knowledge about CDWs that has been gathered over last 30 years and presenting young researchers with an overview of advances in the field that have been made in about 10 last years.
In order to achieve this goal, the workshop will be based on a series of plenary lectures of about 45 mn duration covering the intended topics, followed by extensive time for discussion and questions. Plenary lectures will be complemented by short oral contributions, preferably from young researchers, and poster sessions. The schedule should leave enough time for dicussions and informal round tables on hot topics.


Extended abstracts (maximum length 2 pages, size A4) have to be submitted on-line and will be published in the Book of abstracts and on this site. Instructions for abstract preparations will be posted soon. We encourage the authors to submit their contribution on-line as well and to allow on-line publication of videotaped presentations, slide shows and posters for future reference.


We expect all ECO-NET participants to attend the workshop. Their travel and accomodation expenses will be covered through ECO-NET funds. Several speakers will be invited for plenary lectures. All other researchers working in this field of low dimensional electronic crystals, charge/spin density waves, Wigner crystals etc. are invited to apply for the Workshop without registration fee, however they should take care of travel and accomodation expenses. We can accomodate a maximum of about 100 persons.

Technical information

Lectures and Oral presentations will be presented in the cinema located a few minutes on foot from the Hotel. For the presentation of your contribution, you will have the following equipment:

Video projector (supporting both PC and Apple computers) and a projector for transparencies (not recommended)

PC with latest MS Power Point for Windows as well as Adobe Acrobat.

Speakers are invited to upload their presentation in either PPT for Windows or PDF format at least a week ahead, as we plan video recording of the lectures and oral presentations (upon approval by the author) for subsequent online publishing. Uploaded presentations should be either in PPT for Windows or PDF format. We kindly ask Apple PowerPoint and Keynote users to export their presentations to PDF before uploading.

Posters will be displayed during the entire Workshop at the presbytery close to the cinema. The panels are 97(width) x 92 cm (height), so we recommend the Posters to be 90 cm in width and a maximum height of 120 cm. Pins and scotch tape will be provided. Poster presenters are also invited to upload their contributions for subsequent online publishing.

PC, scanner and laser printer will be available at the hotel, as well as a wireless internet connexion (up to 384 kbit/s).


J. Dumas (CNRS, Grenoble, France), K. Biljaković (Institute of Physics, Zagreb, Croatia).

Scientific Committee

K. Biljaković (Croatia), A. Bjeliš (Croatia), J. Dumas (France), P. Monceau (France), J.C. Lasjaunias (France), J. P. Pouget (France), S. Artemenko (Russia), S. Zaitsev-Zotov (Russia), D. Mihailovič (Slovenia), J. Brill (USA), R. Thorne (USA), K. Miyano (Japan). S. Tanda (Japan).

Local Committee

K. Biljaković, D. Starešinić, D. Radić